View surgery

Wednesday November 4, 2015

I am really amazed how debilitating this surgery has been for me. Last night Mom walked with me for the first time and I was having a hard time keeping up with her. The faster I walk the faster I swing my arms and the blood really starts to pool in my fingers which causes a lot of pressure and pain in the wrist. I paid the price this morning the hand was really stiff and I had a hard time going through my hand exercises. Currently my exercises just consist of moving the fingers and making a fist. I’m not allowed to move the wrist at all. It is really humbling having to ask Mom to slow down for me and trying to work through these very simple hand exercises that I can’t even do completely. I can’t even make a fist with my hand. Hopefully time and exercise will heal me completely. I’ve included a link below of the surgery I had done so you can watch it and see what was done to my hand. This is not me but it is basically what was done. Just having this surgery done two weeks ago I couldn’t full watch this video. I started to get a little queasy and could only do periodic glances at it.

https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?p=orif+surgery+of+wrist&ei=UTF-8&hspart=mozilla&hsimp=yhs-004

I have figured some things out on this blog and have found that you can follow me. At the bottom of the page you should see a button that says follow. If you click on it and enter your email address you will get an email message every time I post an update.

3 thoughts on “View surgery

  1. I’m amazed at how far you’ve come in your recovery already. By this time next year you’ll be posting about how whimpy the Long Trail is and telling stories about how far behind you Aunt Julie was. This is a big bump in the road but every bump makes you stronger as you travel down that road. Luv ya!

    Like

Leave a comment