City of Rock SP, New Mexico

May 1, 2022

Sunrise

I didn’t make many stops in New Mexico. It was dry, dusty, sandy and extremely windy.

My campsite for the next two nights at the City of Rocks State Park. Sunset view.
There are numerous dry camping spots among the rocks.
The park is located in the Chihuahuan desert region of southwestern New Mexico at an elevation of 5,200 feet.
The “city” is a geologic formation made up of large, sculptured rock columns rising as high as 40 feet and separated by paths or lanes resembling city streets. These rocks were formed about 34.9 million years ago when a very large volcano erupted. Then, erosion over millions of years slowly formed the sculptured columns seen today.
Looking down on the City of Rocks.
The early morning hours are frigid!
Another view of my campsite in the early morning sunshine.
We hiked to the summit of this mountain to view the city from above.
I have to admit I was a little surprised by the botanical garden located here, but it was a desert garden.
It was in this garden that Berkley got bite by an ant on his foot. It was traumatic. He couldn’t put any pressure on the foot and when he did walk he was walking on his toes. It took about 36 hours for him to start walking normally. When it happened I rushed right to a ranger and he assured me that Berkley would be fine. He said it is like getting a bee sting.
This one looks like it might want some water.
We did a lot of hiking here. It did a number on Berkley’s pads. I’m not sure but I don’t think they shouldn’t look so worn. The hair has also been broken off. When I’m trimming his toes nails I always marvel at how long the hair is and always wonder if it should be trimmed. Well walking on all these rocks has sure trimmed it. After all the hiking and the ant bite he is getting a few days of rest.
My last dispersed camping spot in New Mexico.
It was a large site with two humongous picnic tables. I don’t think I have ever seen picnic tables so large before.

10 thoughts on “City of Rock SP, New Mexico

  1. Oh northern NM is less dusty than the southern portion. I don’t know if you’ll go back through NM or not, but definitely worth checking out if you do. Enjoy your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for posting your photos and travel stories for all of us, Amy! We hope you continue to explore new sights and adventures in this great country of ours. Chip and Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So very historically interesting. Such a vast difference in terrain when comparing the NE US to the SW. Thanks again for sharing this adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Go for it! I have put almost 50,000 miles on mine since I got it. It is so much fun. Jim even joined me for 2 months last summer and we made it all the way out to Olympic National Park in Washington State. Live your dreams.

      Like

  4. I love the selfie and your little darling in the warm clothes.

    Sent from my iPhone, although I’d rather hike over and hand deliver it to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment